The following is a condensed history of what today is known as the Jubilee Scholarship.  Thanks to Christine Scott for all her work sorting and compiling the folders of Jubilee paperwork that had been stored in the RCA office:
In 1969 Frank Reeves wrote a paper suggesting that RCA establish a trust for small bequests to benefit worthy charities in the community.  In 1970 the Board endorsed the recommendation of the establishment of a General Charitable Trust (as suggested by Frank Reeves) and Harold Thomas was asked to submit a plan for a Golden Jubilee project for the Rotary year 1971/72.  The Golden Jubilee Trust was established  in 1971 and Deed of Trust signed to enable members to make gifts and bequests and for the income to be used for any cause the Club deemed worthy.  The Trust was launched in 1974 at a Jubilee Dinner and two donations of $100 each were made by Frank Reeves and Rod Keir.  The first recorded grant of $50 was made to the Orakei Marae in 1973.  At this time Trust funds totalled $1,622.  
Then in 1983 President Gordon Gilmour announced the formation of another Trust to recognise the contribution of John Seabrook, the sole surviving Charter member of our Club.  By June $12,500 had been raised and at the same time, the Jubilee Trust’s funds were just $6,631.19.  It was recognised that the concept had not caught the imagination of members and it was recommended the Jubilee Trust be joined with and form part of the John Seabrook Trust. This recommendation was approved, and the name was changed to the John Seabrook/Jubilee Trust.  Applications were invited for the first John Seabrook/Jubilee Award from all Rotary Clubs in the Auckland area in 1984.  Applications had to be from individuals who needed financial assistance to achieve a worthwhile goal, which they would not otherwise been able to achieve.
In 1987, to recognise the contribution of John Seabrook $16,000 was raised, bringing total funds to $27,500.  Then in 1989/90, Jim Lavelle donated $30,000, and his name, together with John Seabrook’s, were used to identify awards being made.  A new Trust Deed was signed in 1990, now called the Auckland Rotary Jubilee Trust.  Applicants had to be from individuals, who were self-starters and needed funds to assist them to achieve a once-in-a-lifetime opportunity, which if carried through successfully would have a profound impact on their lives.  Trustees confirmed that awards should be given through all Auckland Rotary Clubs in the original Rotary Club area between Wellsford and Tuakau.  Investments totalled $71,092 and produced an income of $6,845.  Then in 1992 David Chalmers initiated a project to mark the distinguished Rotary record of David Steen and $30,159 was raised, increasing funds to around $95,000 and awards granted for that year were $10,500
Between 1997 and 2005 the value of grants exceeded income and by the end of 2004, the capital sum had fallen to $113,000.  During this time John Lavelle set about restructuring the Trust and raising funds – a contribution of $30,000 from the Club’s Centenary project, the Club’s Medical Scholarship Fund of $11,225 was transferred to the Trust and $119,020 was raised through a Club drive.
During the 2013/14 Rotary year, a decision was made to merge the Jubilee Trust into the Rotary Club of Auckland Foundation.  Assets of $279,719 were transferred and the Jubilee Trust became the Jubilee Scholarship.  Selection criteria was now for post-graduate individuals, up to the age of 30, who required funds to achieve an advanced level of study overseas that would have a profound impact on their lives.  While not prescriptive, selectors leaned towards applicants who would not only fulfil their personal goals, but who were likely to make a net contribution to NZ society in some way.  By the end of the 2019/20 Rotary year, 123 scholarships/awards had been granted totalling $314,287.50